Tips, tutorials and discussion of photography, cameras and accessories.
12 posts Page 1 of 2
Hi,
Snow in Seattle is not a normal thing, so I thought I would try the manual settings in my camera for the first time.
Settings I used were 1/80, f8, ISO 400. Also I was reading Rusty's thread on snow pix, what is EV compensation?
Thanks,
Dawn

Attachments

Beautiful pictures! They say that stuff is headed my way. But you can keep it. I can not answer your questions though.
Beautiful pictures, but they appear to be a bit to dark. But this should help you Here is another explanation of EV compensation
Thanks for the comments ladies and the link Smiles, still not sure that I understand but this is my first camera that is not a point and shoot so I am still learning. Here's another that I took a little later in the morning.

Attachments

Nice shots, the last one is really good. Looks like everyone is getting snow but here, whew.
My husband and I saw a coyote just before I took that last shot!
Try this, Dawn,

(I/m using a D80 but I'll bet you the controls are in about the same place with your D60)
Push the playback arrow (upper left on the back) and then push the "up arrow" of your navigation wheel until you get the playback view that shows you the histogram.

You want the right side of the histogram to get close to the right side - but not close enough to be clipped (slop over is the proper technical term). If your histogram is not close to the right side, hold down the exposure compensation button on the right side of the top of the camera (it is black/silver, +/-) and turn the command dial --- watch the control panel. This will tell you what "EV" you are dialing in: you want it to be "plus something", not "minus". Take another shot and look at your histogram. If it's not yet over close to the right side, hold down the "+/- button" again and use the command dial to increase the "+ EV setting".