Tips, tutorials and discussion of photography, cameras and accessories.
23 posts Page 1 of 3
Hello New Friends,
Can you give me your opinions on the Pentax camera? I am new to the digital SLR world and right now I am borrowing a friend's old Canon, but I do want to buy one of my own eventually. My husband and I own a film camera that is a Pentax and we have several lenses...so I thought if I bought a Pentax it would be nice to be able to use these lenses I already have. What do you all think?
Thanks in advance,
Stacy
Hi Stacy :P

I have a friend that has a Pentax. She has never really been happy with it.
My film camera was a Pentax also but when I started looking... I went with the Nikon.

My suggestion would be do quite a bit of research before buying a Pentax.
~kimi~
Gone Crazy... Back Soon...

Gallery ~ a la kimi

My Blog

kimboustany.com
Hi Stacy,

Welcome to our place, hope you come around lots!

The only way to tell is to take the lens (one should do) with you and tell the salesman you are interested in knowing if the current Penatx digitals will use the older lens.

The answer is one of the following.

1 Yes, no problem. ( nice answer, but unlikely).

2. Yes, but some limitations ( such as auto exposure/focus won't work - usable, but painful unless you are into working your camera in manual mode.

3. Yes, but you need an adapter ( most likely with the same limitations as #2 )

4. No, (but they will make you a really good deal on a great additional lens). Probably the most likely, and if you are dealing with a reputable place, no problem. If you don't know, get more opinions.

The new cameras of almost whatever brand are all fairly competitive in terms of features and price, but research and fact-finding is imperative.
John