Tips, tutorials and discussion of photography, cameras and accessories.
17 posts Page 1 of 2
Hi,
Hopefully one of you knowledgable people can help me. I have a Nikon D60 that I am trying to learn how to use in something other then auto mode. In manual mode I had the shutter speed at 1/2000 and the f-stop at 5.6(trying to shoot a hummingbird). Every photo I have tried to shoot has come out almost black. The ISO is at 100 and the white balance is set for cloudy day. Does anyone have any ideas why the pictures are so dark (and yes I had the lens cap off :D ) I am really new at this so I would really like to know what I am doing wrong. I am having the same problem in shutter priorty mode, but it seems ok in aperature priorty mode. Help!
Thanks,
Dawn
If it is a cloudy day the ISO should be larger than 400 that is one thing you can change. Are you using the metering at the bottom of the frame when you look through the lens? :wave:
Like stated above. Sounds like you need to bump the ISO up to at least 400. You should not have any problem with noise on that camera at higher ISO's.

You may have run out of lense. When shooting a high speed like 1/2000 you need to watch you lense aperature. If the lense is maxed out at 5.6 you may not be getting enough light. What size lense and what aperature range does it have?
Before I was just tired now I'm retired!
http://www.prestophoto.com/photos/gallery/23789
Try dropping your shutter speed. I usually use around 600 shutter speed for hummingbirds.
RonH wrote: Like stated above. Sounds like you need to bump the ISO up to at least 400. You should not have any problem with noise on that camera at higher ISO's.

You may have run out of lense. When shooting a high speed like 1/2000 you need to watch you lense aperature. If the lense is maxed out at 5.6 you may not be getting enough light. What size lense and what aperature range does it have?

The lens I am using is my 55-200mm. How do I know what aperature range it has?