Tips, tutorials and discussion of photography, cameras and accessories.
7 posts Page 1 of 1
Howdy:
I'm considering buying this monitor Samsung 21.6 Widescreen LCD Monitor Model 216BW.
It has the following:
5ms Response Time
3000:1 Contrast Ratio
1680X1050 Resolution
DVI (HDCP) Magic bright 3
Analog RGB, DVI
High Glossy Back
I look in to epinions.com but there is not a review on it. Any body here may be able to tell me about all the above or lead me toward a review website were I may be able to find info on it.
THANK YOU.
Shalom,
Don
A well conseived image is a poem written with light.
PSE6 - Lightroom - CS3 - Win-Vista -Epson 7800
Nikon D80 - D-700 - Canon G9
http://www.condeimaging.com
I have no personal experience, but there has been many discussions about LCD display for photo work on dpreview.com, retouching forum. Here is one:
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1006&message=25369276
I understand the type of LCD (TN, IPS...) is of utmost importance for colour accuracy and angle of view, whereas response time is not. On other threads I discovered that many brands cannot guarantee the type of LCD for a given display reference, and that can be a lottery...
Michel B
PSE6, 11,12,13.1 - LR 5.7 Windows 7 64 - OneOne Photo Perfect Suite - Canon 20D, Pana TZ6 - Fuji X100S
Most used add-ons: Elements+

Mes Galeries
Hi Don,
I've been using a Samsung SyncMaster 225bw for a bit more than two years now and I'm happy with it. The wide screen takes a bit of getting used to, since it's necessary to adjust screen resolution a bit. Not a big deal, really.

I use a Spyder 2express for color calibration and it's just not a problem. One thing you should know is that you can't/shouldn't use the Adobe Gamma gizmo that comes with PSE. Somewhere or other I read that one should uninstall it. I did that and nothing bad happened as a result.