Just for Beginners, post your questions, ask for help, get opinions...
12 posts Page 1 of 2
I keep seeing mention of folks opening something up in "Raw". Now I'm assuming that doesn't mean that y'all are gettin' nekked in front of the computer but what exactly are you talking about? Can some please explain it very simply so that a senior blonde like myself can understand what it is and why I would want to use it?
I only know a very little about it and like you just saw posts on it. You can open a jpeg image in camera raw (ACR) by going to file and then open as. Choose the file and slide down open as until you see camera raw. After that, I am still learning but it is a program within elements. (I have Elements 6, but don't know about any other versions).
Elaine
Wags, I'll give you the short story on this one. Some digital cameras, mostly the DSLR's and some higher end point-and-shoots, have a mode for image capture called Raw, which basically is a copy of what comes through the lens and strikes the sensor - without any substantial in-camera processing for color balance, sharpness, contrast, etc. As a result of being 'raw', the images need additional processing before they're ready for opening in Elements or CS. For that purpose, Adobe developed a plug-in (Adobe Camera Raw)that processes the raw image before it goes into the Editor. The plug-in is free, and it works in both Elements and CS, although somewhat differently.