Just for Beginners, post your questions, ask for help, get opinions...
11 posts Page 1 of 2
I am fairly new to photoshop elements, but have done a lot of reading. I have read on some websites that repeated editing and re-saving of a jpeg file will cause a loss of quality. I have two proposed practices that I would like to get opinions on.

Scenario #1 - Heavy editing, (i.e. filters, masks, color changes, etc.) Open original jpeg file in editor -> save as PSD file -> do all editing -> save as jpeg with desired quality.

Scenario #2 - Light editing (i.e. red eye removal, crop, levels, etc.) Used mainly for upload to a web site. Open original file in editor -> do editing -> save as jpeg with desired quality. One editing session only. No repeated edits and re-saves.

My question is: Should I feel guilty for not saving each and every picture I edit as a PSD file before editing? I don't think I can see a loss in quality with editing a jpeg as opposed to editing a PSD file.

I tried to find a previous post on this but wasn't able.

Thanks,
Blaine
I always work on a copy of the orginal and unless I know for sure that I am going to go back and do more work on an image then I save as a psd. If it is a one time only edit then I save as a jpeg. I am sure there will be more advice on this. This is just how I do it.
Blaine,

Probably 20% of my shots are deleted "in camera"
85% to 90% of what's downloaded into Elements is no better that "snapshot quality" - I flatten those and save as Jpegs. From what I have read, you have to reopen and resave Jpegs a lot of times before you start seeing any degradation of quality.

For those shots that I think are "good" I save two copies: 1-PSD and then 1-Jpeg (flattened). You can open and resave PSD files as many times as you can imagine; there is no loss of quality.

Rusty
There is a very fine line between "hobby" and "mental illness" - Dave Barry

If your pictures aren't good enough, you're not close enough. - Robert Capa