Just for Beginners, post your questions, ask for help, get opinions...
29 posts Page 1 of 3
Hi, I have finally found some free time to play. I have been given elements 5.0 and need some help getting started. 2 questions to start with.
I am not ready to use the organizer and want to go directly to the editor,how do I stop it from opening up in the organizer?
Next question, I went to download some pictures from my camera and instead of my camera software coming up, something from elements did, how do I stop this from happening?
I know this is alot of questions and would really appreciate any help. I am sure I am going to have alot more as I have never used this program before, so please bear with me.
Hi Taz, welcome,

If you are always starting up at the Welcome Screen, look down in the lower left corner. Click the little drop-down and check "Editor".

Welcome.jpg
Welcome.jpg (88.23 KiB) Viewed 1562 times

If you are opening with the Orginizer then you have probably previously checked that. To get to the Welcome Screen and reset it to what you want...
Get into Full Edit
Click Window up on the top menu line
Then Click Welcome Screen
Then select Edit as i outlined above.

I'm not sure how to turn off the Adobe photo downloader. I use that all the time and like it. Maybe somebody else can come along to tell you about that.

PSE 5 is a great program; you are going to enjoy using it. Ask away, everybody here started out the same way you are.

Rusty
There is a very fine line between "hobby" and "mental illness" - Dave Barry

If your pictures aren't good enough, you're not close enough. - Robert Capa

www.prestophoto.com/photos/gallery/19932
Thanks Rusty, that worked. Now if only someone could answer my other question so I can download these pictures I have.
Taz
Taz, how are you downloading your pics now?
Are you plugging your camera into the PC? Or, are you removing the memory card, putting it into a card reader and plugging that card reader into your PC?