Just for Beginners, post your questions, ask for help, get opinions...
15 posts Page 1 of 2
Ok really beginner here. I have found some frames that I might like in the Newsletters. I have downloaded them to the computer. They are compressed (zipped) folders. I believe to open I just double click them, which I haven't done yet. If I am wrong please give full instructions. PS. I downloaded "Shari's frames.zip" and "Tropical Frames.zip"

Now the main question is How do I put the frames/files that are in the folder into Elements 5? I will need step by step instructions please. :)
For now, just double click on the zipped folder and see what's in there. You may find a Readme file or some other instructions.
If that's not the case, there are a few different options, depending on your OpSystem and your PSE version.
If you just right-click on the folder and hit Extract you get a dialog asking where you want to put the files.
However, sometimes there will be three files for each Action, two (the .atn and a thumbnail file) go into one folder and the other (an .xml file) goes elsewhere, so "Extract" isn't really helpful on this occasion.

So, these are the options, once you've unzipped the files of any Action onto your Desktop or some other clear place. If anybody has any corrections to this procedure, please let me know and I will edit this post so that we always have these instructions available (this didn't come right off the top of my head).

if you were on PSE5 and WinXP:just copy the .atn file and the .psd files into C: (Local Disk) > Documents and Settings > All Users > Adobe > Photoshop Elements > 6.0 > Photo Creations > photo effects.

If there's a .xml file there as well, that goes into C: (Local Disk) > Documents and Settings > All Users > Adobe > Photoshop Elements > 6.0 > Locale > en_US > Photo Creations Metadata > photo effects.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -