Just for Beginners, post your questions, ask for help, get opinions...
15 posts Page 1 of 2
Can I create my own actions? If so, where?
You can't create actions with Elements. Bad luck today!
You can't use the pen tool either... For other missing tools, we could probably give you workarounds. There are generally many ways to do any editing in Elements as well as in Photoshop. The problem is there are much more tutorials for Photoshop.
Personally, I don't miss Photoshop at all, but if you want a professional us later on, it's the way to go.
Michel B
PSE6, 11,12,13.1 - LR 5.7 Windows 7 64 - OneOne Photo Perfect Suite - Canon 20D, Pana TZ6 - Fuji X100S
Most used add-ons: Elements+

Mes Galeries
MichelB wrote: but if you want a professional us later on, it's the way to go.

professional us?

I'm a portrait photographer. I just started last fall. I was really busy then because of Christmas and all. Now I'm doing about one session per week. Not quite. It's enough editing that I sometimes feel as though I'm wasting time, but maybe I just don't know how to work efficiently, yet. I've only had elements for a few months. Do you think I'd be happier with the upgrade? I mean, I would; but is it worth the investment, or should I keep working until my business is built up a little more?
I'm not a native English speaker, but that does not excuse bad typing and not re-reading my posts...
That being said, for professional use, most will encourage you to jump to Photoshop. What I can tell you is that what you'll learn in Elements will be useful later on.
Other ideas: did you consider Lightroom? It is very professional and Elements would be a nice complement at a reasonable price. Or maybe CS2 at a better price?
For portraits, professional plug-ins like portraiture should work fine in Elements.
I am sure you'll get more advice on other forums like RetouchPro. The problem is that professional retouchers use only Photoshop.
Michel B