Just for Beginners, post your questions, ask for help, get opinions...
20 posts Page 1 of 2
Hi everyone. I'm new to digital photo software, and just got Elements 2 with my first scanner. Every time I start it up it tries to download something from the net, whether I'm on line or not. I think it says "awed.txt".

This starts every time, and if I'm on the net my modem active light flashes a few times, then a message pops up saying the file could not be downloaded. This is very annoying. I have to click cancel several times, or no if it is asking to try again before it all goes away.

I don't know whether I need the file or not, but it it can't be downloaded how can I stop Elements from repeatedly trying?

alpha
Are you on a Mac and what brand of scanner??? I have found one reference to what sounds like your problem but it is in spanish. Going to have to get it translated.
Very puzzling.....

Firstly, your Elements 2 is about seven years old and as a bundled piece of software I'm amazed that the scanner maker and/or retailer can get away with it. If you can afford the latest version (PSE6) or even a used PSE4 or 5, go for that.

When you say "Every time I start it up..." do you mean when you run Elements or when you run the scanner? The "awed.txt" is a complete mystery. As a text file it's not going to affect your running of PSE or the scanner, but the modem and online download attempt would be annoying.

I see suzib is on the case so I'll see what turns up.
PSE6 on WinXP, Pentax K10d...... and now a Canon G10.

Gallery
Can anyone here read spanish. I found, I think, the answer but it is written in spanish!!!!
Ok, I think I got it..found an english version. Someone else was having the same problem with elements 2. They were on a Mac and the scanner was an Epson. Don't know if that is what you have but try this. Both parties said it fixed the problem