Just for Beginners, post your questions, ask for help, get opinions...
8 posts Page 1 of 1
Can someone please help me? I am new to PSE6 and trying to make a template (image grid) then insert a photo into the template. I'm trying to create a 8 1/2" X 11" template filled with 1" diameter circles. Then I want to insert a photo into these circles and print. In the end I would have a 8 1/2" X 11"sheet of paper full of 1"circle photos. It would look like a sheet of stamps or badges. The more circle photos I can get on one sheet of paper the better. Then I would use this same template over and over again for different photos. Thank you so much for your time and knowledge! I appreciate it very much! Sandy
Hi Sandy,

Welcome to our corner of the world. There are a number of ways to do what you want. This is the easiest I can think of but somebody else may be along with a simpler idea. That's the nice thing about Elements, there are so many different ways to get to the same place.

Start off with a blank file: File > New > Blank File
Make your size 11 inches wide and 8.5 inches high; make the resolution whatever resolution you are going to use for the images dropped into your template. I used 300 and made my background color white.

Now, go into Edit > Preferences > Grid
Set it for a gridline every 1 inch with 2 subdivisions (that's going to produce a line every 1/2 inch; if you want something else, use other numbers)

Now, on your top toolbar, click View > Grid
that turns the grid on.

Now, select the Custom Shape Tool and use the menu to find "Shapes". A circle is one of the choices.

Circle_Template.jpg
Circle_Template.jpg (171.35 KiB) Viewed 1286 times

The grid is going to help you draw the circle to size. Hold down the shift-key when drawing and the circle will be perfectly round.