Just for Beginners, post your questions, ask for help, get opinions...
12 posts Page 1 of 2
Newbie here and need some help. I spent 2.5 hours using a template to make a Christmas card and when I printed it one picture was too dark and I need to change it but it is already flattened. Is there a way to unflatten it. I sure don't want to start over!

Thanks.
You can not unflatten it. But maybe you can open it duplicate the background, select the area you want to lighten using the rectangular marquee then press ctrl J to place the selection on its own layer then you should be able to lighten it with a blend mode. or make an adjustment layer. I hope this helps some i know it can be done, if you get stuck i will try and explain more. Or someone who explains things well will.
I think (and I am probably wrong... but it seems I did this once.... ) if you did not close the program and reopen or close and reopen the file with them template you could try control Z which removes up to the last 25 commands. If you closed it will not have that option.
I will try the duplicate layer method tomorrow. I have definitely closed the program. I feel so overwhelmed by the program and was so happy to have accomplished what I did but was disappointed in the print version. Oh well, more practice tomorrow!

Thanks for your help!
dont be disappointed you can always piece it apart again with minimum effort. The program seems overwheming at first but just hang in there and practice the challenges from the forum, and by all means ask questions, it will get easier. And a big Welcome to you. :wave:
Lesson learned? Always save as a PSD and then save to a different format after flattening. That way your PSD can still be altered if needed. I have come to appreciate the beauty of adjustment layers and masks the hard way as well. :roll:
Reka
CS3 on Vista, Nikon D40 (50mm1.4, 18-55mm and 70-300mm VR) and FIREFOX
ImageMOM

My galleries <------------------> My blog