Just for Beginners, post your questions, ask for help, get opinions...
5 posts Page 1 of 1
I'm a real newbie here....

I am trying to organize and tag my photos and I have a few questions. I am using PSE 6 but I have Scott Kelby's book for PSE 5.

1. The book has a page about "finding photos fast by their month and year." It talks about moving a bar on the timeline. When you move that bar to a specific month, only the photos taken in that month will appear in the photo browser window. PSE 6 evidently doesn't have that timeline? If not, is there a way that you can still do that in PSE 6?

2. The book talks about "collections." Is that the same thing as "albums" in PSE 6?

3. What's the difference between a "keyword tag" and a "sub-category." Is it better to just use keyword tags?

4. When I transfer my photos to my computer, I transfer them into my Canon ZoomBrowser EX software. So....when I import them into the organizer, does it keep the original photo in both places? If so, doesn't that use up more space on my computer?

Sorry about all the "elementary" questions, but I guess I have to start somewhere. Thanks for your help.

Deb
Deb
PSE6/PE4/Windows XP/Firefox/Canon MP600/Canon PowerShot S3IS
Hi, Deb! Welcome! I will try to answer your questions as well as I can. (I have PSE5)

1. Look under Window>Timeline. Is it there? Click it!

2. As far as I know, albums are comparable to collections, only a bit better. I think setting them up is different than in PSE5, however.