Just for Beginners, post your questions, ask for help, get opinions...
20 posts Page 1 of 2
I am new to photoshop (or any other editing for that matter). I would love to make a picture effect of a photo in a wine glass and am about to pull my hair out trying to figure this out. I have found some instructions on the internet but am having a hard time following them. I have Photoshop elements 9 (windows). I have a picture of a beach scene that I took in Cancun. I uploaded a picture of a wine glass and cut out the wineglass using the quick selection tool and selection tool brush. That part looks pretty good. I can't figure out how to get the picture in the glass. I used the elliptical selection tool and made an oval around the picture. I tried to erase the background of the oval but couldn't figure that out. So I tried to drag the oval to the wineglass and the entire picture moved and covered the glass and the entire beach scene. I tried to do decrease opacity and erase background but that has turned into a sloppy mess. I really want to do this for a friend as a wedding gift but can't seem to figure out how and I am running out of time. Can someone please help me figure out how to do this. Maybe I am doing things in the wrong order. I don't know...but I am sure someone out there can help me. And I sure would appreciate any help I can get.
Once you have the oval selected, feather it than click command or control on PC + C to copy the selection. Make the wine glass pic active and use control+V to paste the selection. Then use the move nad transform tools to adjust.
I think Judy has done this and may even have some examples. She's not had much time to be on the forum lately though.

I think there are several ways you could do it. The main thing I'd recommend is to keep everything on separate layers. Getting it to look realistic will be the trickiest part... the curve for a 3D look, adding a catchlight, making it somewhat transparent... I've never tried it.

Courtney