Just for Beginners, post your questions, ask for help, get opinions...
11 posts Page 1 of 2
Ok, here is what I want to learn to do and have no clue where to begin. First of all, I am new to photography and have Photoshop 9 (windows). When my daughter had her senior pics done, the photographer had her do several poses. When we went to preview the pics, she had a picture that had her name in big block letters. Her name covered the entire picture. She used several of those pics and placed them around the text. For example: Her name is Krystina. She appears to be standing behind and peeking around the "K" ...she is sitting in front of the "Y"... and so on. She used the different poses and somehow placed them around her name. Does anyone have any clue how to do this? That was my favorite picture of her because it was fun looking and showed her personality. I am planning to do some senior pics for a few people and would love to know how to do this. I thought this would be a cute idea for toddlers too. Any ideas?
This would involve many layers and masking.
That sounds like a fun image.
You can do it with layers. What you want is the letter(s) all alone on one layer and the people-image(s) on a different layer. Then you use a mask to blend them together.

I don't really have any suitable images immediately at hand but this will give you an idea.
Letters.jpg
Letters.jpg (170.13 KiB) Viewed 1365 times

I put my mask on the Letter layer. When I paint with black, the letter is hidden. Her right knee is in front of the letter, her left arm is behind it. If she keeps running she'll have a big problem but, hey, I'm just illustrating a point, not making sense with the image. ;-)

Your photographer obviously gave this a lot of thought and knew in advance what s/he intended to try to do and, thus, came away from the shoot with poses that would work.