Just for Beginners, post your questions, ask for help, get opinions...
17 posts Page 1 of 2
I am planning to take some prom pictures and have a pckgage deal in mind for one pose. But I plan to take a few more poses and give the individuals options to purchase additional poses if they so desire. I am new to this and was thinking the most cost effective way to do this would be to print the pose in the option and burn the other pictures to a cd for the individual to view but my question is how do I prevent them from copyong the cd or taking the cd and print the pics themselves? Any input would be appreciated.
The short answer is that it will be next to impossible to prevent someone from printing pictures you supply them on a CD/DVD, or from copying it. It is possible that if they take it to someone to print, and the lab recognizes the photos as being shot by a professional, they may not print them without having a signed release allowing them to print. But I wouldn't count on that. If I was doing a paid shoot, and supplying my customers with anything, they will pay for anything they get. Unless I am choosing to give them something. But if you hand over a CD/DVD, rest assured, they will do whatever they want with it. So if you plan on doing that, I would charge them for it. And it wouldn't be cheap!
GeneVH

My SmugMug
My PrestoPhoto
Now on Flickr

CS5/LR4/Nikon D300 & D70s/Win7
Nothing is completely foolproof. But, you can mark the images that makes it difficult to make unauthorized prints.
Proof Images.jpg
Proof Images.jpg (127.28 KiB) Viewed 5095 times

Put your text in white. Add a copyright symbol [ © ] if you like.
Simplify the layer(s).
Add a bevel to the text/symbol.
Change the blend mode of those layers to Multiply.

As you can see here, the image remains visible under the text.

Rusty
There is a very fine line between "hobby" and "mental illness" - Dave Barry

If your pictures aren't good enough, you're not close enough. - Robert Capa